Vintage Read: Lillian Roxon’s Rock Encyclopedia

groupies 1 groupies 2 groupies 3my father is the one to be credited with instilling a love for sixties music in me. The Lovin’ Spoonful,  The Mamas and the Papas, Bob Dylan, Buffalo Springfield, you name it I love it. I also love the obscure, the one-hit-wonders and the wall of sound.

If you share my love for the sixties I recommend you look out for a book that will satisfy your hunger for more knowledge on this period: Lillian Roxon’s Rock Encyclopedia. It was written in 1969 and it gives a beautiful and funny insight into how people in the sixties looked at what was happening musically in that same period. From all the bands and artists, to acid and death rock, but also new phenomenons like groupies (check out my photos: Roxon calls female musicians groupies of the worst kind!) and rock managers. All is explained in this wonderful book.

photos my own

 

 

Leave a Reply

